Recipes to Survive the Food Desert

Columbia Public Health: Student Voices

by Vienna McLeod in the Department of Epidemiology and Co-Vice President of Communications for Students for Food Policy and Obesity Prevention (FPOP), MPH’ 16  

Inspired by Mailman’s Obesity Prevention Month (which started yesterday with a talk led by nutrition policy expert, Marion Nestle) I woke up this past Sunday morning, made myself a smoothie and then began to prep this week’s lunches, dinners, snacks, and fourth meals from three recipes I found on the New York Times website. All New Yorkers make decisions about how to spend their budget. I fall into a cohort of individuals who skip the apartment in Chelsea I can spend my dollars on the kind of food that feeds my body, mind, and soul. Even still, eating on a graduate student’s budget does not make this an easy task. Neither does living in what I would consider the food desert that is Washington Heights…

View original post 1,033 more words

Leave a Reply

